Warm Bodies, Cold Story

Image

He was dead inside until he met her.

After class, me and my friends namely Grace, Edward, and Ken decided to watch a movie to stir up a moment to catch up with each other. It’s actually been long since we have bonded and gone out for a movie or dinner. Blame the elections, AGAIN. But now, I think we would be able to revive (for the lack of a better term) or cope up for the lost times. Again, BLAME ELECTIONS.

We went to SM Manila at around 9:20 PM or so to catch a probable screening of Mama (horror film) around 9:30. We had the liberty to check first the internet for the schedule. Upon arriving we were shocked that the movie schedule on the internet did not match with the ones in the Cinema. Mama has already started at 9:00 PM causing us to miss 25 minutes of the movie. Instead, I suggested to watch Warm Bodies (since I’ve been dreading to see it after I watched it’s trailer) and everybody conceded. I silently groaned in triumph. First, I don’t really like to watch horror movies or the likes of it. Second, I get to choose the movie. Third, I got free popcorn and drinks (courtesy of Ms. Grace Hicban). And lastly, movie was for free. What more could you ever ask for?

The movie started cute, preppy, and light. It became dragging at the middle. And took it off lightly at the end. As for the normal perception of people on movies pertaining to zombies, everyone actually thinks that it’s only about infestation, gore, and apocalypse. WELL, its partly true. I think those things really cannot be detached to zombies. The movie did also highlight infestation and zombie apocalypse but in this movie, they centralized the story in the unusual love story of a human and a zombie, which is actually the same breath why it became catchy.

In totality, the movie was chill and okay but I think it lacks of deeper substantiation of events. I may not have read the book before watching the movie, but I can still further say that I am right with that judgement. There were parts of the movie that I did not understand. Here are the ff:

  • I don’t get it why is there an existence of zombies and boneys in a perfectly human setting.
  • I also don’t understand how the hell did they cure themselves and suddenly been revived? All I get was they were revived thru the virtue and power of love (and I think that’s vague).
  • The part where R (Nicholas Hoult) jumped from a high area making a splash on the water having his head bumped on the pool floor then suddenly he’s human again. I don’t really get the logical explanation of it.

I don’t want to be a detractor of this movie, because in reality I am not. I actually like this movie. It’s within the category of movies that I personally like. But as a common viewer that I am, I can’t help it but notice the flaws. And I personally believe that I am entitled to have an opinion as a basic human right and I’m just exercising it.

Still, I get the moral value of the lesson which is the very reason why movies are created. That true love can come in any form. True love can be felt from anyone. And true love is eternal. It’s all about true love (which I don’t have as of the moment). Having that much to say, still, kudos to Jonathan Levine.

Still a must watch.

PS: I bet the book was better though.

Leave a comment